Not something to ‘LOL’ about…..

It’s amazing the technology we have today that enables researchers and investigators to search through our personal information, such as text messages.

Image

USA Today’s recent article on the Boston bombing sheds light on one of the essential clues which lead to the capturing of suspect Tsarnaev. The text message helped investigators identify the bomber after the suspect sent the, “LOL” reply to a Dartmouth friend who said one of the bombers looked just him. It is amazing that the FBI and other investigative teams have a capability to go into our personal messages. In some sense this is a positive, especially in this case specifically. Although, I also feel that it maybe a little bit intrusive to our private and personal lives. Not that I would ever have anything to hide but I do not like the idea of other people who I do not know reading through my personal information. I think this type of technology should be only used in these cases specifically and needs to be regulated in order to make sure there is no miss use going on.

5 thoughts on “Not something to ‘LOL’ about…..

  1. I completely agree with what you mentioned. It is amazing that a simple “LOL” text message can lead investigators to find the bomber. However, I hope they are using these capabilities only when really necessary. I don’t like the idea that I don’t know who is looking at my information and why.

  2. It is a bit scary that they can access your text messages, but just as long as this capability isn’t abused. I don’t have any problem with them accessing the Boston bomber’s text messages because it was a case of national security and everything must be uncovered about their lives as a result. If text messages were to start being detected for smaller crimes, then I would feel a privacy invasion because that would make the government too powerful.

  3. This definitely will make me think twice about what I send over a text message. Not that I am doing anything illegal, but it is just an eye opener that what you send in a text is around forever! People can screenshot conversations and share them with others, which could be bad for anyone. I definitely have text messages that I wouldn’t want someone else to read.

  4. It makes me anxious when I see things like this. I really am glad that the FBI was able to use this text message to help in this scenario, but I don’t like the idea of them being able to read our private messages. For that reason, I’m always really careful of what I put in my texts or even emails, you can never be too safe these days…

  5. I think it is interesting how easy our messages and information can get intercepted. In some cases it is a good thing but in others I think it is not. It is concerning to see how much private information people can accumulated without permission.

Leave a comment